A Few Bites Missing

Eggs Benedict special with a few bites missing.

It’s been a few months (sorry, more than a few) since my last blog post.  Working on my PhD and political campaign (running for TUSD Governing Board) meant that something had to move to the back burner.  Since this is a food blog, I guess the pun is intended?  When I’ve been out at events many people who I did not know were regular readers have asked for more regular blog posts, which is great feedback.  Thank you for letting me know you are reading, and watching for new posts!

Every time I have to drive two hours north, to the Phoenix area, I ALWAYS stop at Pomegranate Cafe, which is a vegan restaurant where *everything*, and I do mean everything, from breads and sauces to scrumptious desserts are made from scratch.  I always try the lemonade of the day, and am never disappointed.  Yesterday’s candy cane lemonade, a blend of fresh raspberries and mint, did not disappoint.

How can you tell that you have found a spectacular vegetarian restaurant?  When your carnivore-boyfriend: A. doesn’t complain about going there an B. goes there by himself when he is in Phoenix, even when he could have gone someplace to eat meat.  Our favorite dish is the Autumn Pesto Mac & Cheese Bowl, which is big enough to eat a hearty serving, and take a complete serving home for another meal.

I fly to Boston from Phoenix at least three times per year.  My usual routine is to stop at Pomegranate Cafe for a meal, and take my leftovers with me to eat on the plane, which makes the two hour drive to catch a flight worthwhile, not just to save money on a flight.

I stopped by for lunch yesterday, on my way back to Tucson after working at an event for Arizona’s Children Association.  This was my first time enjoying a meal there during the day, so I was able to choose from either the breakfast or lunch menu, as breakfast is served until 2:00 pm.  Around 10 years ago I found out that I have an egg allergy, so I have not been able to Hollandaise sauce, let alone Eggs Benedict, in many years.  One of the daily specials was Eggs Benedict, with a Sriracha Hollandaise sauce, served with a side of potato hash.  Yum, yum, yum!!!  Every element of the dish was phenomenal.  The hash was surprisingly light, not greasy or heavy, with both Yukon gold and sweet potatoes, assorted greens and mushrooms.  The Hollandaise sauce was creamy with just the right amount of spice.  The portion was generous enough for a two-serving meal, so I will enjoy my leftovers for lunch today.

The next time you have to make a trek up to Phoenix don’t miss out on a fabulous meal at Pomegranate Cafe.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Habayit Kosher Catering, the cutting edge, innovative Kosher Restaurant in Santa Monica/ Click here for more details http://www.habayitrestaurant.com/

    Like

Leave a comment